The finest father and son pair to grace the screen, IMO.  I like that while the merits of fly fishing may forever be a point of contention between Foyle and Andrew, the activity is nevertheless one over which they share a special bond.  Reminds me of this TV Times interview from the early 90’s in which Michael Kitchen spoke of fishing with his own son, 5-year-old Jack:

“Wonderful weather, beautiful river and a bit of Sunday fishing with the boy,” Michael says with a smile. “We caught nothing, but it couldn’t have mattered less.”

anonymous said:

I just love those fishing scenes with CF and his son. There’s real warmth between them. That human side of Foyle was missing in the last series, and he came across as a rather cold, isolated man. I want to see his lighter side with some personal background, which is what made the first series of FW so memorable. Thanks for updating the marvellous pics from The German Woman.

Your lovely note expresses my sentiments precisely.  With Foyle uprooted in London and immersed in the Cold War, Sam married with her own concerns, and Julian Ovenden out of the picture, I suppose the writers of S8 were hard-pressed to find a way to show Foyle’s lighter side, which for me was a key element to the appeal of both the character and show in the earlier series.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the dark mood of the post-war era won’t be as oppressive in S9.  Foyle should not be allowed to become a cold, completely isolated man. I’m glad you like The German Woman pics – definitely one of my favorite episodes.

Leave a Comment

