As I tackle the weeds in my yard today…

According to a blurb in The Times (Jan. 29, 1994), in preparation for the filming of Dandelion Dead 2000 dandelions were gathered from the Gloucestershire countryside and “reared, out of season, with more care than most prize orchids receive…” Each stem was kept either in a fridge or under artificial light. Seems few of those dandelions made it on screen, as far as I can tell. The producers of Doctor Zhivago certainly got more bang for the buck from the 4000+ daffodils that they ordered.

A specimen from my weedpatch of a lawn:

Wish I had a garden like this, complete with adorable actor picking a rose:



I wonder if filming this scene brought back 20-year-old memories for Michael Kitchen.

Closest thing to a rose in my yard.

One response to “

Leave a Comment

